They need your
protection.

They need your
protection.


 

CAPS is the only national non-profit organization dedicated exclusively to protecting companion animals from abuse in puppy mills and pet shops.

 


New York State Residents and Animal Advocates: New York Senate Bill S 3753

Monday, 13 May 2013 17:27
Message from CAPS NY Director Barbara Dennihy:
PLEASE HELP ! HELP ! HELP ! THIS IS IT!

NEW YORK STATE RESIDENTS and ANIMAL ADVOCATES

THIS IS IT!!

Thank all of you for helping move New York Senate bill S 3753 forward. This bill is going for a full senate vote SOON.
This is the New York State senate bill that will lift the preemption in NYS Agriculture law that FORBIDS municipalities from enacting a better standard of care on pet dealers in our communities.

If this legislation (SB 3753 and AB 740) becomes law, then the licensing system established under state law will no longer be the preeminent law. Localities would be free to pass their own law.
They could require additional licensing, impose a better standard of care than state law now requires, or ban the sale of companion animals to combat puppy mill abuse altogether. 
No out-of-state PUPPY MILLS can supply puppies to retailers, especially those with USDA violations. 
Giving puppies in their care exercise, proper socialization, veterinary care when needed.

These are things LOCAL government can now enact on pet dealers if they chose to once the preemption is lifted.

The senators listed below need to hear from all of us via phone call and email ASAP! ASAP! ASAP!
Please politely ask them to support and pass senate bill S 3753.
Politely tell them local communities should be allowed to ask pet dealers to have a higher standard of care then New York State law now requires.
Remind them local communities know what is best for their area and should not be prevented from doing what they feel is best to improve the quality of life for residents. 
Thank them for their consideration
Below is the list of senators that need to hear loud and clear please pass along to everyone you know!!

Dean Skelos majority leader CHAIR 
skelos@nysenate.gov
(516) 766-8383

Tom Libous's VICE CHAIR
senator@senatorlibous.com
(877) 854-2687

John J. Bonacic
bonacic@nysenate.gov
(845) 344-3311

Neil D. Breslin
breslin@senate.state.ny.us
(518) 455-2225

David Carlucci
carlucci@nysenate.gov
914-941-2041

Martin Malavé Dilan
dilan@nysenate.gov
(718) 573-1726

Adriano Espaillat
espailla@nysenate.gov
518-455-2041

Hugh T. Farley
Farley@nysenate.gov
(518) 885-1829

John J. Flanagan
flanagan@nysenate.gov
631-361-2154

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.
fuschill@nysenate.gov
516-882-0630

Michael Gianaris
gianaris@nysenate.gov
718-728-0960

Kemp Hannon

Ruth Hassell-Thompson
hassellt@senate.state.ny.us
(718) 547-8854

Liz Krueger
lkrueger@senate.state.ny.us
(518) 455-2297

William J. Larkin Jr.
larkin@senate.state.ny.us
(845) 567-1270

Carl l. Marcellino
marcelli@senate.state.ny.us
(516) 922-1811

George D. Maziarz
maziarz@nysenate.gov
(716) 434-0680

Velmanette Montgomery
montgome@senate.state.ny.us
(718) 643-6140

Michael Nozzolio
nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us
(315) 568-9816

Kevin S. Parker
parker@senate.state.ny.us
(518) 455-2580

Bill Perkins
perkins@senate.state.ny.us
212-222-7315

James L. Seward
seward@nysenate.gov
(607) 432-5524

Andrea Stewart-Cousin
scousins@senate.state.ny.us
(914) 423-4031

David J. Valesky
valesky@nysenate.gov
(315)-478-8745

Kenneth P. LaValle
lavalle@nysenate.gov
(631) 473-1461


Research & Investigations

mcvieghfront

Learn More

Education & Outreach

greatdanemixnotext

Learn More

Rescue & Rehabilitation

Catahoula

Learn More

Learn more about
the pet shop/puppy mill
connection.

View Slideshow

 

Learn more about
the pet shop/puppy mill
connection.

View Slideshow

Beatrice is one
of the lucky ones.

Read Her Story

Beatrice is one
of the lucky ones.

Read Her Story


 

CAPS is working toward a world free from inhumane breeding and sales practices. Join us by adding your voice today!

 

Connect with Us

CAPS

Beatrice

Contact

CompanionAnimal Protection Society

Investigating Pet Shops and Puppy Mills since 1992

759 CJC Hwy., #332
Cohasset, MA 02025
p: 339-309-0272
501 (c)(3) Tax ID#: 58-2040413


Copyright 2006-2015
© Companion Animal Protection Society, Inc.

Contact by Webform