Complaint Details

Cust First Name Melissa 
Shop Name Petland 
Shop Address Line 1 3530 53rd Avenue W 
Shop Address Line 2  
Shop City Bradenton 
Shop State or Province Florida 
Shop Country United States  
Was Online Purchase No 
Shop Website www.petlandbradenton.com 
Shop Email Address petlandbradenton@gmail.com 
Date of Purchase 2012/12/13 
Price 1299.99 
Shop Breed of Dog Shih Tzu 
Sex Female 
Date of Birth 2012/10/05 
Date of Death 2013/12/15 
Breeder Craig Felder 
Broker Platinum Puppies LLC 
Registry AKC 
Diseases and Illnesses Within a week of buying her she was incorrectly diagnosed with a congenital protosystemic shunt. She was then diagnosed with fading puppy syndrome and Petland told me to "pick another one". I fed her from a syringe and nursed her back to heath. I spent 5 on vet bills that were reimbursed by Petland. December 8, 2013 she seems not to be herself and is having trouble breathing. Our vet determines she has an infection and prescribes a 5 day course of antibiotics. Each day she gets a little better but never regains her "normal" behavior. On December 15, 2013 we wake to find her extremely lethargic and her tongue very pale. We rush her to the emergency vet. X rays determine she has a "severly enlarged cardiac silhouette, presentation of tachypea, pale gums and anemia" and the vet was "highly suspicious for cardiac disease as the underlying cause". And thought it may be a congenital issue. She passed before any further testing was completed. Petland requested all medical records and xrays be sent to their vet. 
When illness begin end Puppy Fading Syndrome - 12/13/12 - 12/29/12 Unknown issue 12/8/13 - 12/15/13 
Hereditary Defects 
Recommend vet N/A 
Veterinary expenses to date 5 that was reimbursed; 0 from emergency vet that was not 
How did you hear about shop There are several Petland stores in our area. They have people who hold signs for Puppies. 
Please describe conditions Petland seemed clean and besides being stuck in wire cages, the puppies "appear" to be ok. Online research of Craig Felder turns up horrible conditions and many violations. 
Breeders Name  
Breeders Email Address   
Breeders Address Line 1  
Breeders Address Line 2  
Breeders City  
Breeders City  
Breeders Website  

Bea's Beat

Blog with CAPS Spokesmodel Beatrice, a puppy mill survivor and vegan advocate.

Blog with Beatrice!

Deborah Howard

Deborah Howard

Learn more about Deborah Howard, president and founder of Companion Animal Protection Society.

Meet Deborah

CAPS Blog

Read about issues affecting companion animals, especially those suffering in pet shops and puppy mills.

Visit CAPS Blog

Contact Us

Contact CAPS

Companion Animal Protection Society (CAPS)
759 CJC Hwy., #332
Cohasset, MA 02025
p: 339-309-0272

Contact by Webform

Class Action Lawsuits

scales of justice

If you purchased a sick or dying puppy from Barkworks or Happiness is Pets, you may be able to join consumer class action lawsuits. The first step is to fill out the CAPS complaint form.

Read more about Happiness is Pets or Barkworks.

CAPS Complaint Form