Complaint Details

Cust First Name Kirstyn 
Shop Name Hug a Pup 
Shop Address Line 1 4950 W. Irving Park Road 
Shop Address Line 2  
Shop City Chicago 
Shop State or Province Illinois 
Shop Country United States  
Was Online Purchase No 
Shop Website letspetpuppies.net 
Shop Email Address susan@letspetpuppies.net 
Date of Purchase 2012/03/24 
Price 602.25 
Shop Breed of Dog dalmatian 
Sex Female 
Date of Birth 2012/01/27 
Date of Death 2012/06/23 
Breeder delbert graber 
Broker susan nowarki 
Registry  
Diseases and Illnesses unexplained rectal bleeding April 4th 2012 severe allergies hives turned all pink swollen ears hematomas started April 6 2012 taken to our vet in Indiana given shots to help the allergies and we were instructed to give oral benedryl and rinse her with cool water June 23 2012 severe allergic reaction rushed her to the animal hospital she passed within 10 minutes of anaphylactic shock and her lungs filled with fluid 
When illness begin end April 4th 2012 she passed away June 23 2012 We were given papers with her that her parents were registered and when our puppy passed we tried looking up the parents from wwkc where they were supposedly registered and they were false. WWKC had no record of the dogs the breeder any dalmatian from Indiana or Illinois I brought it to her attention she offered a full refund and screamed at me infront of the store. That doesnt bring my pup back or do justice for my children and their pet she lied to us from day 1. 
Hereditary Defects vet believes she inherited an immune problem that there was something wrong with the parents as to why our puppy had such severe issues 
Recommend vet No 
Veterinary expenses to date 
How did you hear about shop a friend 
Please describe conditions puppies "look" sad the place smells HORRIBLE the bathroom my husband used for the public the floor was covered in water or some liquid, poor  
Breeders Name  
Breeders Email Address   
Breeders Address Line 1  
Breeders Address Line 2  
Breeders City  
Breeders City  
Breeders Website  
Can be registered No 
Did the shop communicate Yes 

Bea's Beat

Blog with CAPS Spokesmodel Beatrice, a puppy mill survivor and vegan advocate.

Blog with Beatrice!

Deborah Howard

Deborah Howard

Learn more about Deborah Howard, president and founder of Companion Animal Protection Society.

Meet Deborah

CAPS Blog

Keep up-to-date about CAPS and read about issues affecting companion animals, especially those suffering in pet shops and puppy mills.

Visit CAPS Blog

Contact Us

Contact CAPS

Companion Animal Protection Society (CAPS)
759 CJC Hwy., #332
Cohasset, MA 02025
p: 339-309-0272
501 (c)(3) Tax ID#: 58-2040413

Contact by Webform

Class Action Lawsuits

scales of justice

If you purchased a sick or dying puppy from Barkworks or Happiness is Pets, you may be able to join consumer class action lawsuits. The first step is to fill out the CAPS complaint form.

Read more about Happiness is Pets or Barkworks.

CAPS Complaint Form